Poetry Submission Guidelines

  • Entrant must be 18 years or older

  • At least one of the following must be true:

    • Entrant resides, works, or attends school in the Fox Cities (within a 45-mile radius of Appleton).

    • Entrant has enrolled in a class at The Mill (past or present).

    • Entrant is a current Friend of the Mill.

  • Submissions will be accepted no earlier than July 13, 2020, and must be received by September 13, 2020. 

  • Only one submission per entrant will be accepted. A submission may include up to TWO one-page poems, but no individual poem may be longer than ONE page. Poems should be single-spaced, in a common font like Times New Roman and reasonable margins. The font may be no smaller than 12-point. Keep copies of your poems; all entries will be recycled.

  • All work must be original. You may still participate in the contest even if your entry has been published elsewhere, either in print or online periodicals, including work published in electronic journals, personal blogs or websites, e-zines, academic websites, and other websites. The only stipulations are that your work is original, that you retain the rights to it, that the piece you submit you've not received payment for, and that the piece has not been recognized in a previous Mill Prize contest as winner, finalist, or honorable mention. Any style or theme is welcome. Authors will retain all rights to their work.

  • Submissions must be sent via email only. Do not paste poems into the body of the email. Attach a single document (one or two poems) saved in Word, PDF, or RTF format to your email message. Use POETRY CONTEST ENTRY in the Subject line of the email and send to info@millwriters.org.

  • The poet’s name or address must not appear anywhere on the poems. Please attach a separate cover letter with the title of your poem(s), your name, home address, email address, and phone number.

  • The judge will select one winner who will receive a $200 prize. The judge may also select one finalist and one honorable mention if applicable.

  • The winner and other honorees will be announced during the Fox Cities Book Festival, from Oct. 12-17. Because of Covid-19, this year's festival will be virtual. Announcement details are still being worked out.

  • Judge: Peggy Rozga, the current Poet Laureate of Wisconsin, will judge this year's contest. 

In 2017, the Mill Prize for Poetry was renamed the Janet Dee Wullner-Faiss Memorial Prize for Poetry in honor of a former student and board member. We invite you to participate in this local contest.


Please read and follow the submission rules listed below. Send any questions to info@millwriters.org. Good luck!

Janet Dee Wullner-Faiss.png
Janet Dee Wullner-Faiss